top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIvan Kelly

Towards the Virtual Theatre - Could Virtual Reality be the Future of Theatre? (Dissertation)

I devote this blog post to my final year Dissertation for my Drama degree at Liverpool John Moores University. Written during the Covid-19 pandemic, the subsequent lock-down became the basis for my work as a whole. As of uploading this post, British theatre is still in what could only be described as a state of limbo. They have just enough funding to keep themselves (but not the plethora of people who work within them) barely afloat.


In reaction to this, my dissertation focuses on the potential for utilising VR as an effective space through which live theatre could be presented, the challenges it might face, and the ultimate necessity for theatre to take a step into the digital metaverse.


This dissertation was one the most challenging, fascinating, panic- inducing, and enlightening pieces of academic work I have ever undertaken and the resulting work would have not been possible without the input of a few spectacular people. I won't name names, but I know those people definitely know i owe them several over-priced pints next time i see them.

Towards the Virtual Theatre- Ivan Kelly
.
Download • 83KB


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page